Stouffvilles Burrows Wins Executive Honor

Junior Hockey News – Stouffville’s Burrows wins Jr. A executive honour #top .wrapper .container h1 { color: #004080; }

Tel: 1-702-551-4654 | Mail:

  • Home
  • About TJHN
  • Advertise
  • Contact

The Junior Hockey News


Visa Prepaid Card

Translation var translate_this_src = ‘en’;
Stouffville’s Burrows wins Jr. A executive honor

Kenny Burrows, co-owner and GM of the Stouffville Spirit, was named the Ontario Junior Hockey League’s executive of the year, the league announced Thursday.

The 45-year-old Stouffville native, who made his debut with the club as a scout in the 1997-98 season, was surprised by the news.

“I’m happy to receive it, but I thought there were some other people who deserved it too,” he said. “But it really means a lot because the people who did the selecting are from our league.”

Revealing he has never received an honour of this magnitude since he got involved in junior hockey, Burrows was quick to note the award wouldn’t have been possible without the support from other people within the Spirit organization.

“You’ve got to have good players along with good staff members and owners. They all have to buy in to what we’re trying to do as an organization. That’s so important,” he said.

For the Spirit, that objective is to win the OJHL championship.

Burrows revealed much of what he has learned in the trade would not have been possible were it not for his association with certain individuals.
Some of whom are no longer with the team including Dieter Schmidt, who was the Spirit GM in 1998 when Burrows served as an assistant coach and assistant GM.

Burrows succeeded Schmidt as the club’s GM in the 2001-02 season and would fill that role for the next six seasons, which included a berth in the league final in

2006 before moving on to join the Collingwood Blues as their GM for one season in 2007-08. He returned to the Spirit the next season where he continues to run one of the league’s most successful programs.

“Dieter taught me a lot of things,” Burrows was quick to point out.

As well, he offered thanks to former Spirit head coach and current Newmarket Hurricanes head coach Brian Perrin.

In the Spirit’s current regime, Burrows said were it not for the work of head coach Craig Donovan along with club co-owners in Zeev Werek, Steve Roest and Chris Tambos, he probably would not have been given any consideration for the award.

“These people need to be thanked,” he said.

Get your FREE extended auto warranty quote! Egnyte Instant FTP


  • Contact TJHN editors, or submit an opinion piece to the editors.


  • Contact TJHN writers, or apply to become a TJHN writer.


  • Contact TJHN marketing staff for your custom tailored marketing plan.

Story Submission

  • Submit a story to our staff that is outside of regular news submissions.


Copyright © 2011 – All Rights Reserved – The Junior Hockey News

About The Author