Featured General News

2016 USA Hockey Annual Award Winners Announced

USA Hockey will host its 2016 Annual Congress from June 8-11 in Colorado Springs, Colorado. The four-day event provides USA Hockey’s various councils, committees and affiliates the opportunity to conduct the business of the national governing body and celebrate accomplishment.

USA Hockey will honor its service award recipients and various other players of the year on June 8 at its annual Night of Tribute Awards Dinner, while the other top awards will be presented during the President’s Awards Dinner on June 10.

Wednesday’s award recipients include Adult Player of the Year Jim Westby (Roseville, Minn.), Bob Allen Women’s Player of the Year Monique Lamoureux-Morando (Grand Forks, N.D.), Dave Tyler Junior Player of the Year Rem Pitlick (Plymouth, Minn.), Dave Peterson Goalie of the Year Hunter Miska (North Branch, Minn.), College Player of the Year Kyle Connor (Shelby Township, Mich.) and Disabled Athlete of the Year Sarah Bettencourt (San Diego, Calif.).

Honorees for The President’s Awards Dinner on June 10 include Excellence in Safety Award recipient Dr. Elizabeth Pieroth (Elmhurst, Ill.), Chet Stewart Award winner Pat Bush (Raleigh, N.C.), Adult Member of the Year Shelley Looney (Buffalo, N.Y.), Walter Yaciuk Award recipient Dr. Chip Burke (Pittsburgh, Pa.), Bob Johnson Award winner Hilary Knight (Sun Valley, Idaho), Distinguished Achievement Award recipient Jerry York (Watertown, Mass.) and William Thayer Tutt Award winner Phil Zona (Milton, Mass.). The dinner will also honor 2014-16 Brian Fishman Intern Jasmine Grotto (Alpena, Mich.) and 2015-16 Brendan Burke Intern Lyle Gregory (Branford, Conn.)

Related posts

Richards commits to Minnesota Duluth


Top pick Lawson Crouse commits to Fronts


2020 USPHL 16U American Playoffs: South Shore, CP Dynamo Earn Friday Wins