AAU and WSHL Adds Canadian Division

The Western States Hockey League is pleased to announce the proposed addition of the Provincial Division located in the northern portions of the Canadian Provinces of British Columbia, Alberta and Saskatchewan.

The Western Provinces Hockey Association (“WPHA”) will initially establish 6-8 Junior A, Tier II teams in various communities across the northern regions of the three provinces. The (“WPHA”) has already begun discussions with several communities who have long desired a recognized Junior Hockey League to bring competitive hockey to their community venues.

The long established “WSHL”, with its origin dating back to 1993 has built up a very competitive hockey operation geographically located in 13 Western States ranging from the Pacific Ocean to the Mississippi River, the Mexican Border to the Canadian Border. In the 2018-2019 season the “WSHL” will begin its quarter century (25th season) with an international footprint. Commissioner Ron White remarked “the partners within the WSHL are extremely excited about the expansion into the Provincial Division with such a well financed group of business professionals. We look forward to working with the members of the “WPHA” to successfully bring competitive Junior ‘A’ Tier II Hockey to the communities the “WPHA” is working with at this time.

Related posts



Headrick commits to Lake Superior State


McGroarty Named Captain of U.S. National Junior Team